The Power of Doing- Part One


Like the fall of a single domino, one action initiated will lead to another, then another, then another. They will all fall, though the direction and the destination are different. A sequence of righteous actions sincerely performed for the sake of Allaah and upon the Sunnah, will be a reason for Tawfeeq (success) from Allaah and it will lead to more righteous deeds; the direction is that of obedience and the destination is Paradise and the Pleasure of Allaah.

And Allaah increases those who were guided, in guidance. [Surah Maryam (19): 76]

It is not enough to say that you believe and then refrain from the actions that necessitate this belief. The Scholars have defined Eemaan- Belief as:

The belief of the heart, the utterance of the tongue, and the action of the limbs; it (eemaan) increases with obedience and decreases with disobedience.

Allaah, the Sublime, has mentioned beside belief, righteous deeds an innumerous amount of times, though it will suffice to mention from one surah showing the reward for those that have pure belief and righteous actions:

 {Verily, those who believe [in the Oneness of Allah, and in His Messenger Muhammad (Peace be upon him)) including all obligations ordered by Islam] and do righteous good deeds, they are the best of creatures.

Their reward with Allah will be gardens of perpetual residence beneath which rivers flow, wherein they will abide forever, Allah being pleased with them and they with Him. That is for whoever has feared his Lord. [Surat Al-Bayyinah 98:7-8]

A sequence of evil actions performed for the gratification of one’s own self and for the increase of nothing but transgression is a means for destruction. The direction is that of disobedience and the destination is the Fire and the Anger of Allaah. {We Seek refuge from Allaah}

The Messenger صلى الله عليه وسلم said:

“There is none amongst you but has been assigned a place (either) in Paradise and (or) in the Hell-Fire.” The people said (to him), “Should we not depend upon it?” He said: carry on doing (good) deeds, for everybody will find easy such deeds as will lead him to his destined place. He then recited: “As for him who gives (in charity) and keeps his duty to Allah..” (92.5) [Saheeh Al-Bukhari: 6217]

We know well enough our own selves and the deeds that we perform; whether they are in the direction of obedience or disobedience, and we know whether or not we are being facilitated towards that. If we were to remember the Hadith Qudsi which makes it clear how poor and in need we are of Allaah, in every aspect from the guidance that He gives to the food and clothing He provides us with, we would strive more in the path of guidance. We would beg for guidance like we would beg to be saved from a burning building.

Allaah said:

O My servants! I have forbidden dhulm (oppression) for Myself, and I have made it forbidden amongst you, so do not oppress one another. O My servants, all of you are astray except those whom I have guided, so seek guidance from Me and I shall guide you. O My servants, all of you are hungry except those whom I have fed, so seek food from Me and I shall feed you. O My servants, all of you are naked except those whom I have clothed, so seek clothing from Me and I shall clothe you. O My servants, you commit sins by day and by night, and I forgive all sins, so seek forgiveness from Me and I shall forgive you. O My servants, you can neither do Me any harm nor can you do Me any good. . O My servants, if the first of you and the last of you, and the humans of you and the jinn of you, were all as pious as the most pious heart of any individual amongst you, then this would not increase My Kingdom an iota. O My servants, if the first of you and the last of you, and the humans of you and the jinn of you, were all as wicked as the most wicked heart of any individual amongst you, then this would not decrease My Kingdom an iota. O My servants, if the first of you and the last of you, and the humans of you and the jinn of you, were all to stand together in one place and ask of Me, and I were to give everyone what he requested, then that would not decrease what I Possess, except what is decreased of the ocean when a needle is dipped into it. O My servants, it is but your deeds that I account for you, and then recompense you for. So he who finds good, let him praise Allah, and he who finds other than that, let him blame no one but himself. [Saheeh Muslim: 2577]

{I originally planned on writing this as one post but as it has gotten long I will be posting in two parts inshaAllaah. Part two will, by the permission of Allaah be up on the blog in a weeks time.}

One thought on “The Power of Doing- Part One

  1. Pingback: The Power of Doing- Part two | Ikhlaas

Leave a Reply

