The voice of a Muslimah


I am a Muslimah.

A practising Muslimah.

The media attacks the like of me.

They say that I am oppressed, neglected, not given my rights.

They bombard my sisters with images of “free women”

They. Lie.

Unlike these “free women” I do not feel the need to flaunt my body in order to be “given my rights”. To be perfectly honest, if the only way that my voice will be heard is if my clothing is shed, I would rather not speak up.

But hear I am. Speaking my mind because I DO have a right. This right is not given to me by the likes of the media that say I’m oppressed. The same media that feel the need to exploit women in order to sell anything from cars, to cardboard.

This right is given to me by the One that created me. He, and only He, gave me the ability to be the best version of me that I can be. Not the version that society tells me to be. He took me from being weak, oppressed and undervalued to being a Queen, a jewel among the many rocks.

I am not perfect, nor do I accept that I can not improve myself. But unlike the women of the world, improving myself does not involve looking at those that are skinnier than me, prettier than me, or richer than me and changing to fit in with that “ideal”.

No.

Self-improvement is making my heart pure from the filth of sins, clothing myself with taqwa (righteousness and piety), and adorning myself with good akhlaaq (manners).

Joy and contentment fill my heart when I do an act to please my Creator. He is free of need, the Most Merciful. The best of times and the worst of times are met with reliance on the Almighty and it results it tranquillity because everything is good for the believer.

Ironic how those that attack me are striving to achieve what I already have. They repeat the same mistakes thinking that the end result may, one of these times, end up with a happy ending. Well here is the cold, hard truth…

You are oppressed. Not me.

You neglect your own self, destroy your own self and fill your empty heart with vain amusements.

You cloud your own judgement by telling yourself that you’re happy, but when you truly reflect you acknowledge that within you is a void.

You nurture the needs of your body, but you neglect the needs of your soul and that feeling of ’emptiness’ resides permanently within.

You may look beautiful to an ignorant observer but I see through your polished smile.

When you see my in the street, hidden from staring eyes, do not deceive yourself in to thinking that you’re better off.

I hold in my heart that which you do not.

A gem that is priceless in value.

It is the blessing from the Almighty, the Lord of the Worlds, one which I thank Him for.

The key to happiness.

It opens up the door from this transient life, to the eternal life of the Hereafter.

It is Islam and I am a Muslimah.

 

 

4 thoughts on “The voice of a Muslimah

  1. Assalamu’alaykum,
    Masha Allah beautifully written. Loved every bit of it! 🙂
    Especially this line, “Self-improvement is making my heart pure from the filth of sins, clothing myself with taqwa (righteousness and piety), and adorning myself with good akhlaaq (manners).”
    Barak Allahu feek!

Leave a Reply

