Allaahu Akbar!


Do we ever truly realise when we enter the salaah with “Allaahu Akbar” that we are actually speaking to our Creator? Five times a day we get a chance to speak to the One that created us from nothing:

“How can you disbelieve in Allaah, when you were lifeless and He brought you to life; then He will cause you to die, then He will bring you [back] to life, and then to Him you will be returned” [Surah Al- Baqarah: 28]

He is the One that facilitates everything for us, provides for us and maintains us. How beautiful is it that as imperfect as we are, we’ve been given the opportunity to talk to Allaah سبحانه و تعالى every single day?! And how do we get to talk to Him? With His words! How phenomenal is that?! We are such that our words, no matter how eloquent, could never reach anything as perfect as the words that Allaah spoke and revealed to us in the Qur’aan. We use these perfect words to communicate with our Lord!

“Allaah, the Blessed and Exalted has said: I have divided the prayer between Myself and My servant, into two halves: half of it is for Me and half is for My servant, and My servant shall have what he has asked for” Then the Messenger (صلى الله عليه و سلم) said: Recite! The servant says ‘Praise be to Allaah, the Lord of the Worlds’; Allaah the Exalted says ‘My servant has praised Me’. The servant says, ‘The Most Merciful, the Bestower of Mercy’ Allaah says, ‘My servant has extolled Me’. The servant says ‘Master of the Day of Judgement’; Allaah, the Exalted says ‘My servant has glorified Me’. The servant says ‘It is You (alone) we worship and it is You (alone) we ask for help’; [He says:], ‘This is between Me and My servant, and My servant shall have what he has asked for’. The Servant says ‘Guide us to the Straight path, the Path of those whom You have favoured, not of those who receive Your anger, nor of those who go astray’. [He says:] ‘All these are for My servant and My servant shall have what he has asked for.’

How could it not take your breath away to think about this? We are nothing! There are six billion plus people in the world, more have passed before us and more will come after, and no doubt each of us in comparison is just a drop in the ocean.

When I realise that Allaah is speaking to ME; tiny, insignificant, sinful and imperfect me, I can’t help but feel complete and utter gratitude that Allaah has blessed me with something that is more precious that the entire earth’s weight in gold. I am a believer, and I would not be so if it weren’t for Allaah guiding me. I have been given, by the Almighty, the ability to worship Him, remember Him, glorify and praise Him. How many people are there that are living empty lives, searching for meaning, often cases, searching for vain pleasures? But what greater pleasure can there be, knowing that Allaah chosen you to be a believer in Him? He chose you to submit to only Him, supplicate to only Him, and repent to only Him. He told you:

“And when My servants ask you, [O Muhammad], concerning Me- indeed I am near, I respond to the invocation of the supplicant when he calls upon Me. So let then respond to Me [by obedience] and believe in Me that they may be [rightly] guided. [Surah Al- Baqarah: 186]

I ask Allaah, the One, the Irresistible, that He keeps my heart firm in His religion, that He benefits those that read this and pass it on, and that He writes this as a deed done sincerely for His sake.

One thought on “Allaahu Akbar!

Leave a Reply

